Chat

Author Topic: Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)  (Read 212121 times)

Offline franciscod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 28
  • REMEMBER DelekSMAF
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #630 on: March 29, 2018, 02:25:38 am »
I think it would be neat to have an automatic "optimize instruments" option that would remove all unused instruments and automatically rearrange instrument numbers in the song.

Sounds awesome :)

Offline vee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Delek FTW
DefleMask not running without graphics card installed
« Reply #631 on: April 03, 2018, 05:08:21 am »
I don't have my graphics card installed and tried to install DefleMask and I got this ERROR:
    Impossible to create the Window. Please update your Videocard/OpenGL drivers. CODE: 0xF4E7372F

It's not a heavy software, why does it need a graphics card to run? :(

Offline Delek

  • Sali para ver
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1810
    • Delek's Website
    • Email
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #632 on: April 03, 2018, 05:32:10 pm »
Defle requires OpenGL 2.0 because reasons, will be fixed on next update.

Offline franciscod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 28
  • REMEMBER DelekSMAF
DefleMask not running without graphics card installed
« Reply #633 on: April 03, 2018, 07:06:33 pm »
I don't have my graphics card installed and tried to install DefleMask and I got this ERROR:
    Impossible to create the Window. Please update your Videocard/OpenGL drivers. CODE: 0xF4E7372F

It's not a heavy software, why does it need a graphics card to run? :(

That's weird. Do you have graphic drivers installed?

DefleMask runs on "netbooks" with Intel Atom CPUs with very limited graphics capabilities... what computer are you running it on?

Offline franciscod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 28
  • REMEMBER DelekSMAF
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #634 on: April 03, 2018, 07:08:25 pm »
Hopefully this is a simple request.

I love Deflemask but it is very cumbersome to use in Linux as I have to install quite a few i386 libraries every time I want to use it. When I got back to programming I usually have to re-install all of my 64-bit libraries which makes switching between these two things a pain. Could you please build a 64-bit version of DefleMask for Linux? I would also be more than happy to port it if you don't have time. I think this is one of the best trackers out there for classic systems so it would be worthwhile.

Cheers.

What Linux distro are you running? It should run okay on 64bit systems, for example here's an AUR package (for Arch Linux): https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/deflemask/

Offline vee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Delek FTW
DefleMask not running without graphics card installed
« Reply #635 on: April 04, 2018, 03:59:49 am »
I don't have my graphics card installed and tried to install DefleMask and I got this ERROR:
    Impossible to create the Window. Please update your Videocard/OpenGL drivers. CODE: 0xF4E7372F

It's not a heavy software, why does it need a graphics card to run? :(

That's weird. Do you have graphic drivers installed?

DefleMask runs on "netbooks" with Intel Atom CPUs with very limited graphics capabilities... what computer are you running it on?

When I install Catalyst, windows doesn't boot up, I got my graphics card fixed but after 3 months it's doing it again.
I'm getting a new graphics card.

Offline franciscod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 28
  • REMEMBER DelekSMAF
DefleMask not running without graphics card installed
« Reply #636 on: April 04, 2018, 11:36:39 pm »
I don't have my graphics card installed and tried to install DefleMask and I got this ERROR:
    Impossible to create the Window. Please update your Videocard/OpenGL drivers. CODE: 0xF4E7372F

It's not a heavy software, why does it need a graphics card to run? :(

That's weird. Do you have graphic drivers installed?

DefleMask runs on "netbooks" with Intel Atom CPUs with very limited graphics capabilities... what computer are you running it on?

When I install Catalyst, windows doesn't boot up, I got my graphics card fixed but after 3 months it's doing it again.
I'm getting a new graphics card.

Okay but even without a graphics card it should work, unless your integrated video is *really* old. That's why I'm asking about the computer you're using

Offline vee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Delek FTW
DefleMask not running without graphics card installed
« Reply #637 on: April 08, 2018, 05:27:25 am »
I don't have my graphics card installed and tried to install DefleMask and I got this ERROR:
    Impossible to create the Window. Please update your Videocard/OpenGL drivers. CODE: 0xF4E7372F

It's not a heavy software, why does it need a graphics card to run? :(

That's weird. Do you have graphic drivers installed?

DefleMask runs on "netbooks" with Intel Atom CPUs with very limited graphics capabilities... what computer are you running it on?

When I install Catalyst, windows doesn't boot up, I got my graphics card fixed but after 3 months it's doing it again.
I'm getting a new graphics card.

Okay but even without a graphics card it should work, unless your integrated video is *really* old. That's why I'm asking about the computer you're using

I's not integrated, it's an AMD HD6600. Like Delek said it needs OpenGL 2 to run.
I'm in the process of buying a new Graphics Card, that's why I don't have my Graphics Card's Software (Catalyst) installed.

Offline lazygecko

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 16
  • Delek FTW
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #638 on: May 03, 2018, 07:10:33 am »
Is it possible to extend the octave range of 2612/FM chips so that they can play lower pitches than currently allowed? It may seem like a trivial feature at a glance but this is actually pretty important for specific types of sound design, primarily due to how the instrument detune parameters scale with higher mult values. For example it's currently impossible to accurately reproduce the droning, heavy unison-esque sounds from Jesper Kyd soundtracks because the instruments rely on unusually high mult values played at very  low octaves for the desired effect.

Offline Raijin

  • Member
  • Posts: 140
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #639 on: May 03, 2018, 06:44:37 pm »
I second Gecko's request. To add onto what he said, someone who disassembled Jesper Kyd's driver has confirmed it uses up to the lowest possible frequencies the YM2612 is capable of producing (around octave -2. Yes, negative 2. I think that would be negative 3 in Deflemask since it starts at octave 0 though). Additionally, there are some frequencies slightly higher, above octave 8, that the YM2612 is also capable of.
There are some percussion sounds in Red Zone for example that are 100% impossible to recreate in Deflemask at the moment, because it plays at such a low frequency. Full octave range would be a fantastic addition.

Offline Delek

  • Sali para ver
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1810
    • Delek's Website
    • Email
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #640 on: May 04, 2018, 11:30:46 am »
Yeah, the chip can go down to 0hz but the accuracy will be compromised under octave 0. We will look into this. I'm worried about how to display in the tracker < 0 octaves now.

Offline Raijin

  • Member
  • Posts: 140
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #641 on: May 04, 2018, 01:26:08 pm »
Would it be possible to display special characters? Maybe you can display the negative numbers like this "C-1 C-2" and so on.
As for the keyboard display, there are players that just show the default 1-8 octaves, and the negative octaves show on C-1 (C-0 in Defle). Maybe Deflemask can do this too, unless you feel like expanding the keyboard.

Offline SriK

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Delek FTW
    • Email
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #642 on: September 04, 2018, 01:05:19 am »
Is it possible to add a song-wide volume multiplier? If not for every chip, then at least for those with granular volume control (e.g. YM2151 + Sega PCM)?

I'm currently composing the soundtrack for my game with DefleMask (working with another composer), and a feature like this would really help in regards to mixing. For example, if I have a song composed at full volume and I want to bring up the bass instrument a ton, my only real option is to raise the volume, then work through the resulting clipping by slowly rebalancing all the other channels with Ctrl+F1/Ctrl+F2 (or trying to make the other channels softer at the exact points where I hear clips, or trying to balance FM / PCM volume parameters). It isn't a huge deal when you have a system with 5 simple sound channels like the NES, but our game is composed entirely using YM2151 + Sega PCM (13 channels, most of which are usually playing).
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 01:07:48 am by SriK »

Offline Alianger

  • Member
  • Posts: 245
  • Super Sugoyim
    • Mini-Revver
    • Email
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #643 on: November 15, 2018, 10:26:28 pm »
Is it normal for vibrato to cancel out or be incompatible with so many other effects on MD? Detuning, volume fade out and in, mult effects... ugh.

1. I'd like there to be some automation tool in the interface for TL and mult effects so that they are faster to use. You could be able to copy a few rows and call back to this selection later when inputting new notes, like an additional envelope of sorts.

2. Volume control for samples on MD, since a bunch of sound drivers for games had it.

3. Maybe it's there and I'm just doing it wrong but being able to paste a single channel echo pattern over another pattern while keeping both would be nice.

4. Either make it possible to copy a single column from a pattern row to another part of a song, or make it possible to type in the number of the pattern you want to put at a specific part. It's sooo slow sitting there and changing the patterns for repeating parts in the later part of a longer track.

5. What SriK said, that would be great. Even better if you could mark a few columns and then pick change volume for them like with f1/f2 (?) but for multiple columns.

« Last Edit: November 15, 2018, 10:49:24 pm by Alianger »
YT channel (MD music, romhacks, misc gaming): https://www.youtube.com/user/Alianger/videos

Offline HoneyWizard

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Delek FTW
Requests! (Don't ask for new systems, that will be decided by a poll)
« Reply #644 on: December 09, 2018, 11:49:50 am »
Not sure if this has been suggested, but some simple color-coding options would be nice.

For instance, you could add an option to change the font color for selected notes in edit mode. On  long songs, it's sometimes hard to navigate through different sections that have motifs. You'll see a familiar series of notes in the main window, then go "oh shit, wait, this isn't  a verse repeat, it's a bridge  but borrows some phrases from an earlier verse." And looking at the pattern matrix isn't helpful at a glance, because you're using the same pattern for part of it. Being able to color-code song sections would fix this, and changing the font color could also show how different parts are related (like changing the font color to yellow in the bass when it's playing counterpoint and returning to white when it's playing roots).
« Last Edit: December 09, 2018, 11:56:34 am by HoneyWizard »