Chat

Author Topic: [Mega Drive] Bram Stoker's Dracula (replica)  (Read 1691 times)

Offline mihaelkyeah

• Learn the best from all worlds
    • YouTube channel
    • Email
[Mega Drive] Bram Stoker's Dracula (replica)
« on: February 11, 2016, 02:25:25 am »
Here is a whole replica of the Bram Stoker's Dracula soundtrack by Matt Furniss that I started making in October of last year and just finished today.

My main motivation for making this was that, 2ch-N's VGM rip was made with the game running at 60 Hz instead of 50, resulting in a rhythmically clumsy 60-to-50 Hz adaptation.
Since I have no hacking knowledge whatsoever to access the otherwise non existent sound test screen to do my own rhythmically accurate VGM dump, I decided to make all the tracks from scratch - I also figured it would serve as experience. And it did!

Heh, I also intend to show off how picky I am with paying attention to detail and staying as true as possible to the source... As well as showing how DefleMask can easily imitate the Krisalis sound driver by Shaun Hollingworth, which was used in a fair amount of my personal favourite MD soundtracks. :D

Special thanks to TheDeadFish for sending me a download link to a standalone version of the new ROM builder so I could build a ROM with all 26 VGMs!
Being restricted to not using vgm_trim at all also led me to learn how to make proper position jumps in DefleMask. I had to modify pretty much all the DMFs to change the position jumps accordingly. :P

I hope you find this enjoyable or useful or both!

== AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD: ==
  • DMF zip archive
  • VGM zip archive
  • GEN ROM
  • Changelog TXT file
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 01:17:23 pm by kyusawamura »

Offline Delek

• Sali para ver
  • Administrator
    • Delek's Website
    • Email
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 09:03:33 am »
This is huge and very well done. Congrats!!!!

Offline mihaelkyeah

• YouTube channel
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2016, 10:27:03 am »